An eight-hour approved training class is required before any person can apply for a concealed carry permit in the State of Kansas. The office of the Attorney General has published a list of certified trainers on their website. www.ksag.org/page/concealed-carry. Concealed carry applications may be downloaded at www.ksag.org/page/concealed-carry or picked up Monday through Friday between 8:00 AM and 4:00 PM at the Geary County Sheriff’s Office which is located at, 826 N. Franklin Street, Junction City, Kansas 66441.
Once a Geary County resident has received the mandatory training, they should bring the completed application packet and fees to the Sheriff’s Office, 826 N. Franklin Street, Junction City, KS 66441 Monday through Friday 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. The applicant will be fingerprinted and the Sheriff’s Office will collect and forward all paperwork to the Attorney General’s Office for a criminal background check by the KBI. The Attorney General’s Office is the sole authority in determining if a permit will be granted.
The Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act (KSA 75-7c01 et.seq), outlines the process in great detail. A summary of this bill can be read on the Kansas Attorney General’s website. www.ksag.org/page/concealed-carry
What paperwork do I need?
Bring the following items with you to the Sheriff’s Office, 826 N. Franklin Street, Junction City KS 66441 Monday through Friday 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
- The completed application form
- A valid Kansas Driver’s License or Non-Drivers Kansas Identification Card
- “Passport” type photo (approximately 2 inches by 2 inches) with an unobstructed full frontal view of your head and shoulders, taken within 30 days of application. Photos will not be accepted if you are wearing sunglasses
- Attorney General approved Certificate of Training or affidavit of instruction from an approved instructor
- $32.50 check or money order payable to the Geary County Sheriff’s Office
- $100.00 check or money order payable to the Attorney General’s Office
Where can I get an application?
Geary County Sheriff’s Office, 826 N. Franklin Street, Monday through Friday 8:00 AM to 4:00 PM or download the application at www.ksag.org/page/concealed-carry
I have all of the paperwork. Now what?
Monday thru Friday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., take ALL required paperwork to the Sheriff’s Office located at 826 N. Franklin Street and you will be fingerprinted. The Sheriff’s Office will collect and forward your application, copies of identification, fingerprints, photo, and payment to the Attorney General’s Office.
Do I have to be a resident of the State of Kansas to obtain a Kansas CCH license?
Yes, with one caveat. Most applicants must be a resident of the State of Kansas prior to making application for a CCH license. If applying before July 1, 2010, the individual has to have been a Kansas resident for 6 months or more immediately preceding their application date. Kansas will generally not issue CCH licenses to non-residents. The exception: Without getting too technical, active duty military (and their “dependents” after July 1, 2010) are allowed to apply for a Kansas CCH and keep their out-of-state identification cards.
A “dependent” of an active U.S. military member is someone who resides with the military member and financially depends upon that member in whole or substantial part.
I am an out-of-state resident with a permit from that state. Can I apply for a permit in Kansas?
Only Geary County residents may apply for a permit in Geary County.
Will I get a card to carry with me?
Once approved, you will be instructed by the Attorney General’s office to contact your local Department of Motor Vehicle office to receive your CCH permit. You will be required to pay a fee for the card.
Will I be authorized to carry a concealed handgun into another state with my Kansas permit?
While other states have concealed carry laws, some may or may not recognize concealed carry permits issued by Kansas. Concealed carry licensees are cautioned to check with the licensing authority in each state before traveling.
Are out-of-state carry concealed licenses recognized by the state of Kansas?
For a non-resident concealed carry licensee to be recognized by Kansas the holder must hold a license from a reciprocating state, must be a resident of the state where the license was issued, and must be able to show proof of license and residency from the state of issuance. Reciprocating licensees must abide by Kansas concealed carry laws while traveling, visiting, or working in Kansas. Visit the Attorney General website at www.ksag.org/page/concealed-carry for a list of reciprocating states.
Who can apply for a permit?
You must be a Citizen of the United States, a Geary County resident, and 21 years or more of age.
What disqualifies me from a permit?
Visit the Attorney General’s Concealed Carry webpage for a current list of disqualifiers.
For more information on Kansas Concealed Carry laws, please visit the Attorney General’s website at www.ksag.org or call the Geary County Sheriff’s Office at (785) 238-2261.